Product review

Review: ChapStick 100% Natural Lip Butter

About a month ago, I received ChapSticks new 100% Natural Lip Butters compliments of Influenster for testing purposes and my honest review. They sent me all the flavors in the line which include Green Tea Mint, Sweet Papaya, and Pink Grapefruit.

img_0554

 

When I found out that I would be receiving these products, I was both intrigued and skeptical. I like to be mindful of what goes on and in my body and lately most brands now use the term 100% natural to draw consumers in when in reality 99% of the ingredients listed on the packaging are stuff I can’t even pronounce (translates to harmful chemicals).

Overall, I am happy with the ingredients used to make these lip butters

Ingredients:

helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, jojoba esters, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, beeswax, caprylic/capric triglyceride, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, tocopheryl acetate, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, octyldodecanol, persea gratissima (avocado) oil, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, flavor, tocopherol, hydrogenated soybean oil, rubus idaeus (raspberry) seed oil, glyceryl stearate

You may have noticed that I only have one ingredient list, but mentioned 3 different flavors. Well, this is where I disapprove. The ingredient list for all the butter flavors are EXACTLY the same. Don’t believe me you can check it out here. This mean that the ingredient listed as “flavor” is where these butter differ. Where is that flavoring coming from? I don’t know,  and I don’t like not knowing. But if thats the only questionable thing, I have to worry about i’ll accept it.

Pricing: It’s very cheap for the quality you are getting. It’s only $2.50 on the ChapStick website. Not bad compared to other products like it that cost almost twice as much.

Claims: The only claim on the packaging is that this lip butter will be moisturizing for up to 8 hours. Now I don’t know about you, but I tend to eat and drink a lot within the course of 8 hours so I can’t really attest to if it last for the full 8 hours. I will say that as long as I didn’t do anything that would rub it off, all flavors were very moisturizing

Finally moving onto the flavors. As mentioned, this line has three different flavors –> Green Tea Mint, Sweet Papaya, and Pink Grapefruit. My favorite is the Green Tea Mint because Green Tea and mint are my absolute favorite foods and they were perfect together in this lip butter. My least favorite was the Pink Grapefruit. I mean I enjoy grapefruit, but it is not a flavor I would like up my nose constantly. Also out of all the flavors, Pink Grapefruit seemed to be the only one that left a taste in my month, probably because how strong the scent was.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Overall: I would give the ChapStick 100% Natural Lip Butters  8/10. My main issue was not knowing where the flavoring was actually coming from. However, the brand claims this lip butter to be made from natural ingredients and that state is true when reviewing the list of ingredients (again; not taking into account of the “flavor” ingredient). Its very affordable and if I am unable to get get the lip balm I normally use in a timely fashion, I would buy this lip butter to try me over.

Leave a Reply

